13 December 2017

Introducing the Youth Theatre Ireland Youth Board

Introducing the Youth Theatre Ireland Youth Board

We are delighted to announce the nine members of the first ever Youth Theatre Ireland Youth Board. The Youth Board is a new initiative to ensure that our programme of work is youth-led and relevant.

The Youth Board will help to provide strategic leadership to the team at Youth Theatre Ireland by sharing their first-hand knowledge about the needs and interests of young people in the context of youth theatre.

The Youth Board members were selected from a competitive process that involved shortlisting and interviews. They are all aged between 18 and 25, and have first-hand experience of youth theatre as either a member or leader, or both.

They are:

Cathal Thornton – Leader and ex-member of Droiched Youth Theatre, Louth

Clarabelle Murphy – Current member of Dublin Youth Theatre

Laura O’Riordan – Leader and ex-member of Tallaght Youth Theatre

Daniel Beck – Current member of Limerick Youth Theatre

Marie Lynch – Ex-member of Backstage Youth Theatre, Longford

Eoin McAdam – Leader and ex-member of Monaghan Youth Theatre

Michael Foley – Leader and ex-member of Roscommon County Youth Theatre

Rory Williams-Doyle – Ex-member of Backstage Youth Theatre, Longford

Niamh Murphy – Ex-member of County Wexford Youth Theatre

Together they will pilot an ambitious model for including young people as decision makers in arts organisations. Speaking ahead of the meeting, Youth Theatre Ireland director, Michelle Carew, commented “Ireland has the youngest population in the EU. Every arts organisation can and should include young voices and we look forward to sharing our learning from this initiative as it develops.”

The Youth Board met for the first time on 13 December and will continue their work through 2018. Watch this space for updates on their progress.

Photo: Back row: Laura O'Riordan, Michael Foley, Eoin McAdam, Cathal Thornton, Clarabelle Murphy, Jen Coppinger (Youth Theatre Ireland Chair). Front row: Daniel Beck, Rory Williams-Doyle, Michelle Carew (Director of Youth Theatre Ireland) Not pictured: Marie Lynch and Niamh Murphy

Keep up to Date

Sign up for the Youth Theatre Ireland Newsletter